New Adventure!

February 28, 2011

We listed our house to sell last Thursday.  This was a really sudden occurrence.  We’ve been doing the Dave Ramsey budget for several months, and knew our financial situation was tight, but until February 13th, I hadn’t really considered this idea.  (Dave confessed to me that he’s been thinking of it for some time, but was a little nervous to suggest it to me.)  Well, I did shed some tears thinking about it.  I love our home.  It’s big and bright and in a cul-de-sac and I’ve finally gotten all the rooms painted and situated and my little garden is well established in our tiny back yard.  I love our location and our neighbors and just about everything about this place.

But that’s the reality: it’s just a place.  A place where we live and laugh and eat and clean and fight and carry on our daily lives.  Really, we can do that anywhere.

And I’m so happy that we are not in a position of foreclosure, or needing to do a short sale.  We bought our home nine years ago in our fledgling little community and it’s worth more today than it was back then.  Not many of our friends can say the same.  We’re looking to downsize to a town home in our same community, and (God willing and the numbers work out) pay a lot less for our monthly mortgage and have some money in the bank.  Worth it?  No question.

That’s not to say I haven’t had some more tears.  Grief over this “necessary ending.”  And fear about how things will work out.  (Will our house really sell?  And when?  And will we be able to find a townhome that will work for our family?  And will the timing work out??)  But all in all, I’ve been peaceful.  I’m praying God’s blessing on this endeavor.  And somehow, I’m seeing my sweet children and my dear husband in a more poignant, cherishing sort of light.  We are what matters, not where we live.  I keep thinking of that verse  “Everyone to whom much was given, of him much will be required, and from him to whom they entrusted much, they will demand the more.”  (Luke 12:48)  How much I have been given!  Healthy, great kids.  Loving marriage.  Sound mind (most of the time. ;))  How can I not trust that God will provide abundantly what we need in this time?

So that’s where we’re at.  If you’re looking for a great home, let me know!  🙂

3 Responses to “New Adventure!”

  1. dawn said

    wow–good for you guys. I hope it sells quickly and at just the right price!

  2. mel peters said

    fun to see you blogging again! 🙂 Praying that the whole housing situation works out just right for you all –

Leave a Reply

