Kindergarten Bliss

August 28, 2010

Bridget starts Kindergarten on Monday and is raring to go.  We went to the orientation/ “meet the teacher” teacher yesterday.  Her teacher is going to be the same wonderful woman who taught both Lucy and Phoebe 1st grade.  She is amazing.  She is warm and tender and intuitive about children.  She is focused on “honoring the child” and not requiring more from them than they are ready for, but still challenging them and expecting them to grow and learn.

She just called a moment ago to reiterate how pleased she is that Bridget is in her class, how excited she is about the year, and how honored she is that we wanted her to teach our littlest child.  She said that she feels a special kinship with Bridget because she, too, was the third of three girls in her family, and she just loves our family so much.

Call me cynical, but I just can’t see how homeschooling Bridget for Kindergarten could compete with what we will get from this marvelous teacher. I am sometimes led to feel that this is the case by my homeschooling friends.  Maybe most of it come from my own moments of wondering if I am doing the best thing for my children. But right now, I am really excited about the year.

3 Responses to “Kindergarten Bliss”

  1. Jodi said

    Speaking as a recent homeschooling mom, I know how easy it was for me to try to bolster my confidence by telling myself how much better things were on my side of the divide. And now look at me! These days I’m finding it easier to see the costs and benefits of both choices and to really mean it when I say, “Each family has to choose its own best.”

    We had orientation last night, too. I’m feeling good about our plans for this year.

  2. Mom said

    my daughter was not homeschooled & she turned out to be an absolutely amazing person!

  3. Lisa said

    Oh how sweet that Bridget has the same teacher! Very special! And it sounds like it will be a great year for little Miss B 🙂

    By the way, your youngest is very beloved – I had to laugh at the number of Clubs registration forms that had her name as the person they wanted in their child’s small group (do they even do small groups with the littles?)

    Can’t wait to see you guys on Sunday – although I’m afraid it may be nearly as hectic (on my end) as last week!

    We need to get together again soon – Panera some morning?

Leave a Reply

