Reading

August 3, 2010

I’ve been busy.  Painting rooms in my house (Dave’s and my bedroom and the girls’ rooms), going to birthday parties of children, the usual cleaning and laundering and meal-preparing, and reading.

In preparation for this conference Dave and I are going to, I’ve been reading Frederick Buechner for the first time.  Why did I wait so long to discover his work?  I’ve read The Sacred Journey and The Son of Laughter in the last few days.  The Sacred Journey is his autobiographical account of his early years, and it is told with such careful wording and beauty that I found myself completely caught up in it.  Somehow he captures the wonder of ordinary things, and reveals himself in such an honest and profound way that I felt like he was revealing myself to me, as well.

The Son of Laughter is the story of Jacob.  The story of the old patriarch comes alive in this book.  Such a great story, even in the sparse words of Genesis…the story of Jacob and Esau and their conniving mother and Isaac their father, and on through Laban and Leah and Rachel and the whole mess of birthing sons that would be the fathers of the twelve tribes, and the tale of Joseph and his dreams.  Buechner tells it and the characters come alive, and he infuses in it something of the wonder and mystery of God, whom they call “The Fear.”  I feel like I don’t have words to describe the experience of reading about The Fear in this book.  It moved me, astonished me, and gave me a fresh glimpse of the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.  The God of us all.   Highly recommended book.

Can’t wait for our trip!  Dave and I are so excited; a little tentative as to what this conference will be like, but excited nonetheless.  And the opportunity to be together, just the two of us, for four days!  Away from our normal routine and duties.  Yay!

One Response to “Reading”

  1. Megan said

    I hope you guys have a blast at the conference!!!

Leave a Reply

