Blog-A-Day Attempt Is Beginning

July 6, 2010

This morning in my Google Reader, I read this post which pushed me to actually sit down and type out a blog post.  And I’m going to try to do one every day, for, let’s see… how about a month?  And we’ll see how it goes.  It’s not so much that I have hoards of people reading this blog, waiting for me to deliver humorous stories, poignant truths, and breath-taking observations about life.  I need to do this for me.  I need to express myself more regularly.  I need to create.  I need a reason to notice things in the world.  I need waking. And the discipline of writing something everyday will hopefully help wake me up.

I’ve been reading Annie Dillard, in preparation for Hutchmoot, a conference Dave and I are attending next month.  I’ve always meant to read Annie Dillard, but never got too far.  Now I have some motivation, and I have to say, she’s an amazing writer.  This passage took my breath away:

“Why are we reading, if not in hope of beauty laid bare, life heightened and its deepest mystery probed?  Can the writer isolate and vivify all in experience that most deeply engages our intellects and our hearts?  Can the writer renew our hope for literary forms?  Why are we reading if not in hope that the writer will magnify and dramatize our days, will illuminate and inspire us with widsom, courage, and the possibility of meaningfulness, and will press upon our minds the deepest mysteries, so we may feel again their majesty and power?  What do we ever know that is higher than that power which, from time to time, seizes our lives, and reveals us startlingly to ourselves as creatures set down here bewildered?  Why does death so catch us by surprise, and why love?  We still and always want waking…”    (from The Writing Life).

For some reason, amidst lots of fun and activity and joy this summer, I’m fighting the feeling of meaninglessness.  I feel like a creature set down here bewildered.  And instead of embracing that sense, I find myself recently wanting to numb myself, to escape into a coma of checking email and facebook and overindulging in sweets and junk food.  I want waking.  I want to see “beauty laid bare.”

So here goes.  Probably much of what I’ll write will be boring and mundane.  But I want to try to capture my life and pay attention to my life, both internal and what I see around me.

Today we’ll go to the second day of swim lessons for all my girls.  The weather continues to be cloudy and cold.  I just looked out and it’s actually lightly drizzling.  Not exactly pool weather, but we never get much of our “summer heat and sun” until late summer – September and into October.

I can’t for the life of me think of anything else interesting to say.  See you tomorrow!

One Response to “Blog-A-Day Attempt Is Beginning”

  1. LP said

    Oh hooray! I know we talked about this back when I was doing it – I’m so glad you’re doing it now!
    I love reading your thoughts so I’m thrilled you’re writing…I’ll be coming by to “visit” every day! Besides, KidsGames got me used to catching up with you everyday. This is better than nothing 😉

    Maybe it’ll motivate me to do better, as well! 🙂 I’ve been intentional about writing more openly, it’s just not been as regularly as I’d like.

    Hope swimming lessons go well!

Leave a Reply

