I’m Back

December 2, 2009

I decided to start blogging again.  I had lunch with my sweet friend Lisa today (hi Lisa!) and she encouraged me to start making a commitment to blog more.  It is a fabulous way to focus my thoughts, process my experiences, do something creative, and it gives me motivation to pay more attention to my life.  All good things.  So the frazzlement of having three kids and trying to run a household (especially in the month of December) is no longer going to prevent me from posting here at least two or three times a week.

Much is going on in our lives!  Most notably, a new idea that we’ve begun taking steps toward is adopting another child, most likely internationally.  We love our girls and feel totally content with the size of our family, and yet, both Dave and I have felt a nudge.  Biblically, God is pretty clear about caring for orphans.  He even uses adoption terminology in describing our relationship to Him – all those that know Him are adopted into His family.  And we are not a perfect family, but we’d hopefully be good enough to provide another child – another human being – the common comforts of home and love.  And the fears I have about what another child would be like, and if I could truly feel like they are my own child, and if their color, behavior, or issues might indicate something about me… well, it’s not about me anyway.  (Contrary to my tacit opinion most of the time, I hate to admit.)   So, nervously, we are pursuing this.

That is about it for now.  It’s been an extremely full day of leading a Bible Study group, having lunch with Lisa, cooking a pot roast for my family, hosting two of Lucy’s friends for a playdate, baking banana bread, decorating a Christmas tree, getting Phoebe to piano lessons, coordinating with her piano teacher about the recital this weekend which I’m helping facilitate, preparing Advent activities for the children, visiting friends whose dog just had puppies, and suddenly and unexpectedly exploding at Dave over dinner about something that I don’t really even care about.  That last activity was my hint that I’m a little overwhelmed and tired tonight.

(It’s a very good thing that he is gracious and forgiving, by the way, and got out his guitar a little later and made up a song about my outburst.  I know that Bible says that “Love covers over a multitude of sins” but I think humor does a good job of that too.)

Good night!

5 Responses to “I’m Back”

  1. Lisa P. said

    Hooray! You’re back! I look forward to seeing what you have to say!

    So great to steal a little time to catch up today!! 🙂

    I’ll get you the links I mentioned sometime this week!

    Let’s do lunch again soon!

  2. Dave said

    Hey! Are you saying my song-writing prowess is funny?

    Love you 🙂

  3. Mel said

    am excited for you all as you pursue the possibility of adopting a child ~ I think it would be a blessing for all!

    and I’m excited to hear the updates on your life through your blog ~ I feel like a fly on the wall easvesdropping in your home when I get to read your entries… 🙂

  4. Mom said

    Lea-
    I don’t know if blogging makes your life nicer but it certainly touches my heart every time I read what you are thinking. What a wonderful daughter you are!

    Mom

  5. Jobie said

    I love you, Lee! And I would agree that humor does cover a multitude of sins. 🙂

Leave a Reply

