Twilight Zone Tailor

September 24, 2009

Today Bridget and I (and Piper our dog) walked the older girls to school.  Hot, dry Santa Ana weather here.  Blech. We are all ready for fall, but oh, well!  ‘Tis the season for heat in Southern California.

Bridget and I were trying to decided what to do today as we walked home.   I needed to run a couple of errands, but wanted to give her something fun to do as well.  So we decided to check out Bird Haven in downtown Escondido.  Just having acquired three parakeets last week, our family is all about birds right now.  So we went.  And we saw birds.  And we heard birds.  (In fact, Bridget kept covering her ears as those big, loud macaws screeched.)

All in all, the Bird Haven was a fun outing.

On to the other errands: I had brought along a pair of shorts of Lucy’s that has a busted zipper, thinking I could get the zipper replaced.  And what did I notice, two doors down from Bird Haven?  A tailor’s shop, with a sign proclaiming “fine Italian tailoring.”  We marched right in.

An old, old man greeted us at the door and ushered us into his shop.  I couldn’t help but notice the large crumbs of food on his lips.  He had a thick Italian accent.   The shop itself was tiny, and made to feel tinier still by the huge piles of books and videotapes surrounding an old couch and work table.  I felt a little claustrophobic, and a little freaked out.

I tried to explain about the zipper.  The man grabbed the shorts and squinted at the busted zipper.  “Not worth the cost of fixing,” he proclaimed.  “Eleven dollars; pants not worth that much.”  I took back the shorts, ready to bolt out of this creepy shop.  “Wait a moment…”  he said, manuevering past a pile of boxes.  As he fumbled around looking for who knows what – a butcher knife, perhaps!? – I glanced around and saw an old tv with a black and white program playing…The Twilight Zone.

I am not kidding about this.

“This is the most surreal experience I’ve had in awhile,” I thought as Italian-tailor-man limped back over to me, crumbs and all.  He held out his hand and dropped a few candies in my hand.  I smiled weakly and thanked him, and got the heck out of there.

3 Responses to “Twilight Zone Tailor”

  1. Mom said

    this is hysterical….wonder if he makes HALLOWEEN COSTUMES???

  2. Lisa said

    Wow…random for the category of the post seems like an understatement after that Twilight Zone Tailor you encountered! LOL! I know a great non-freaky tailor in RB…not that you probably want to come all the way down here just for a tailor. Despite my sewing, zippers are NOT my thing…or I’d offer to help. Oh, and I obviously blew writing back about getting together while the girls were out of school…what’s your schedule like now that they’re back to school? Hey, guess where I just applied for a job? 🙂

  3. Leanne said

    Mom, that is too creepy to think about. 🙂

    Lisa! Let’s try to connect. Where did you apply for a job!?

Leave a Reply

