Lack of Blogging

March 6, 2009

I’ve noticed recently that I’ve felt a lack of inspiration for blogging. I’m not sure why this is: I think maybe when I’m extra-frazzled and caught up in the fullness of daily living, I’m not paying much attention to my life, to that part deep inside that gives me inspiration for blog posts.

I’ve been reminded of paying attention to my life this past week. It is Lent, and though I no longer attend an Anglican church, I try to observe the Church Calendar and participate in small ways in the great corporate life of The Church. This Lent I’m reading through some readings by Henri Nouwen. Tuesday’s reading struck me and gave me more insight into why at times I don’t feel inspired to write or pay close attention to things or really experience my life as opposed to just getting through my days. This is what Henri advises:

Listen to your heart. It’s there that Jesus speaks most intimately to you. Praying is first and foremost listening to Jesus, who dwells in the very depths of your heart. He doesn’t shout. He doesn’t thrust himself upon you. His voice is an unassuming voice, very nearly a whisper, the voice of a gentle love. Whatever you do with your life, go on listening to the voice of Jesus in your heart. This listening must be an active and very attentive listening, for in our restless and noisy world God’s so loving voice is easily drowned out.

These are words that ring true to me. Simple truth, but a good and timely reminder for me.

I’m going to be counseling Winter Camp for our churchs 3rd, 4th, and 5th graders this weekend. I’m pretty certain that this particular weekend will not provide a ton of opportunity for me to cultivate some of this quiet listening in my soul, but hopefully God will choose to work through me anyway. And I will prioritize doing this upon my return.

So stay tuned…

One Response to “Lack of Blogging”

  1. I needed to read this today. Thanks Leanne.

Leave a Reply

