Wrapping up a week

February 20, 2009

Oh, boy. It’s been a week. I’ve not felt well this week. No need to go into details, but suffice it to say, I’m very grateful that there is NO possibility that I am expecting, because I don’t really enjoy the nausea and other unpleasant symptoms that were part of my week this week.

When the Mom of the house is not functioning 100%, the house shows this by Friday. The laundry has mounted up impressively. (Although my sweet Dave has done a few loads….thanks honey!) I haven’t cooked a real meal all week. Sorry kids. I haven’t showered in 3 days now. I was going to this morning but decided spontaneously to go to the Wild Animal Park instead. Hey, maybe I fit in better with the animals in this unwashed state anyway! Aside from feeling a little self-conscious about my grubby condition, it was a lovely outing. Beautiful day. Warm but not hot. Bright blue sky. The San Pasqual Valley all greened from our recent rainfall. A lion taking a snooze right in front of the glass of the exhibit. A Safari bus ride tour, complete with a delighted Bridget who was pleasant to be with, talkative, and cute. Meerkats scurrying. A ride on the Endangered Animals Carousel. (Bridget wanted to ride an elephant this time.) The Petting Kraal, including a visit with Winky, the one-eyed deer that is my children’s favorite. All in all, a fun way to wrap up the week.

I have spent a small amount of time contemplating Dave’s claim that I may be taking up the 100 Thing Challenge. It feels daunting. I’m thinking of trying to just take the challenge in my closet for starters. Heck, I only wear like 10% of the clothes in there. How ridiculous is that? For now, I’m putting off all thoughts of such things until next week, when I’m (hopefully) feeling a little better.

I did have plenty of time for reading this week – the one silver lining of the low-energy, ill cloud. I read Inkheart and thoroughly enjoyed it. I will review it here maybe next week, for the hoards of people who really want to know what I think about this book. 🙂

On into the weekend – Lucy has riding lessons today, Phoebe is going to the school-sponsored Father-Daughter Dance with Dave tonight. We have to try to have her sell more of those dang Girl Scout Cookies this weekend, in addition to going to gymnastics and hosting the San Marcos World Thinking Day for Girl Scouts on Sunday. Sigh. Life is full.

And this is major rambling.

Happy weekend!

3 Responses to “Wrapping up a week”

  1. hayah.cc said

    wow very nice
    really i like this blog
    thanks

  2. Mel said

    Hi Leanne,
    I hope you’re feeling better ~ I remember our visit to the animal park – it WAS a lot of fun ~ wish we had something like that here!

    Have you heard of the book, “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society”? by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows I just read / finished it this weekend and I LOVED it ~ the whole book is written as a series of letters ~ it takes place after WW 2 in London area…if you read it, let me know what you think!

  3. Leanne said

    Thanks, Mel. I am better. I’ve never heard of that book, but will have to look into it!

    Come visit again and we’ll go to the W.A.P!

Leave a Reply

