Things a Dog is Good For

November 20, 2008

We have a big mutt named Piper. He’s a good boy – mostly. True, he kept us up a couple of nights this week because he sensed the coyotes that are always prowling around our back fence, but his intentions even with that were rather noble, when you think of it. He was trying to guard and protect our home and family.

Today I was grateful to him for a less noble goal, but a handy one for my purposes: cleaning out a peanut butter jar. We’re getting ready to do some homemade snow-globe crafts next week to help keep the kids busy while they’re out of school for Thanksgiving. So I’ve been dutifully collecting jars as they become empty in the kitchen. We’re going to use glass jars, but I thought for Bridget, it might be nice to have a plastic one that I don’t have to worry about her shattering. So when I used the last of the peanut butter making sandwiches for lunchboxes, I thought, “That would be the perfect size for Bridgie’s snowglobe!” But really cleaning out of peanut butter jar is a big pain. Unless…

You are a dog!

Thanks, Piper. (I love his dedication, his precision of tongue, his solemn devotion to lick it clean at all costs.)
pb1

pb2

pb3

3 Responses to “Things a Dog is Good For”

  1. Mom said

    I love that granddog!

  2. Su said

    I love, love, love reading your blog! I don’t follow very many people who I don’t know in “real life”, but you have a permanent place on my blogroll. 🙂 And I just spent the last three minutes ooohing over your dog licking the peanut butter jar clean. He is a very pretty dog!

    Please, please, if you get a chance, do post your snowglobe-making instructions, because I am totally fascinated at the thought of making my own.

  3. Leanne said

    Hi Su! Thank you for your very kind words… I’ll post the whole snowglobe adventure next week. Take care!

Leave a Reply

