Grumpy Children’s Literature Musing

October 22, 2008

So I’ve had a semi-crummy day. Bridget is on Day 6 of a cold and is really extra grumpy and defiant. She’s been pulling out all the stops to make sure that she is in control of whatever she CAN control (me, the household, the pets, her sisters, her toys) since she can’t control the nagging cough that’s plaguing her or the snot running from her nose. I have not been the consistent, loving, firm disciplinarian because it’s exhausting and hard to know how much to let her get away with when I know she’s not feeling well. (The short answer: I’ve let her get away with too much.)

Anyway, after having a minor melt-down, I decided to just snuggle with her in her bed and read stories. I read the original Curious George, and it struck me as really odd. First of all, you can’t just take a monkey home from Africa. Second, would the firemen really throw a monkey in prison for making a fake fire call? And most strange, why is there a balloon man selling balloons right outside of the prison wall, where obviously the guards aren’t that competent, and the children appear totally unsupervised? That’s just weird.

I know it’s just a simple, classic children’s story, and the wonder of it is more in the illustrations, blah blah blah. It just bugged me today, and I wanted to complain.

2 Responses to “Grumpy Children’s Literature Musing”

  1. laura said

    We recently read Stewart Little and I found myself in the same place. How in the world does a human birth a talking mouse?! Hope she gets well soon!

  2. Leanne said

    I’ve thought of that with the Littles too. Ridiculous. I’m willing to suspend my disbelief to really enter into a good story, but some of these authors ask too much. 🙂

Leave a Reply

