A Good Dinner

August 22, 2008

Like most moms, I try to prepare healthy, well-balanced meals for my family.  However, today I had a kind of “low-energy” day.  So for dinner, I served biscuits (they were from scratch if that counts for anything), bacon, and a simple fruit salad.  No veggies, nothing gourmet.  As Lucy (age 9) surveyed the table, she asked, “Is this all we’re having for dinner?”  When I admitted it was, she let out a whoop.  “Yes!  All yummy food!”

I guess perspective counts for a lot.

Also, Ma from Little House on the Prairie fed her family similar dinners all the time, if my memory serves me correctly, although I think they called bacon “salt pork.”  Isn’t it the same thing?  Anyway, if it sufficed for the Little House family, it’s good enough for us!

2 Responses to “A Good Dinner”

  1. Mel said

    that sounds like a great meal to me! 🙂

  2. thegrouchyladybug said

    Thanks, Mel! Wish you were here to eat with us and sympathize with Bridget around the dinner table. 🙂

Leave a Reply

