Portus 2008

July 13, 2008

I have just arrived home from Portus 2008, a Harry Potter fan conference.  As a friend I met at Portus said, “It’s a guilty little pleasure” to participate in such things.  It was an odd experience in a lot of ways, and yet super fun!  Dave and I went together, and that was nice in and of itself to have some prolonged time just being together.  I love that I still love that man so much!

But mushy romantic stuff aside, it was really interesting and thought-provoking to attend the formal programming, hear lots of smart people drawing attention to JK Rowling’s masterful literary skills, comparing the Harry Potter books to other literature, and looking more closely at the religious and psychological undertones and concepts.  I am a happy nerd in these environments!  I eat it up.

I’m now back home, single-momming it for a few days until Dave returns from the ICRS conference in Orlando.

One Response to “Portus 2008”

  1. Jobie said

    So glad you had fun!!! Can’t wait to hear all about it!

Leave a Reply

